Strategies for integrating Clinical and Basic Sciences
Report of the Organizing Committee

(+) 1-304-733-1270
(+) 1-304-733-6203


A total of eight medical schools from across the United States had volunteered to host the Second Biennial BSEF Conference. From these, Roger Koment made the decision to accept the invitation of the Rush Medical College to host us at the Lincolnshire Marriott Resort, in Lincolnshire Illinois. Howard Zeitz, M.D. is the designated Site Coordinator who will be responsible for all logistical concerns of this conference. This decision was approved by the BSEF Executive Committee, who agreed that we should attempt to rotate the conference location from east (1993) to mid-west (1995) to west (1997), and then back again.


Thirty-eight individuals representing 30 medical schools had volunteered to serve on the Organizing Committee for the 1995 conference, and in May 1994, Roger and Howard selected a committee of five. Selection criteria included consideration of basic science discipline, previous involvement with the BSEF, experience in medical education, and gender. It was agreed that one of the five members be an “unknown entity” to the national scene of basic science education, as part of the internal mentoring program of the BSEF leadership. The committee is as follows:

Denise Ferrier, Ph.D.BiochemistryMed Coll PA & Hahnemann UnivFx: (215) 843-8849
Penny Hansen, Ph.D.PhysiologyMemorial Univ of NewfoundlandFx: (709) 737-5190
Lynn Romrell, Ph.D.AnatomyUniversity of FloridaFx: (904) 392-3940
Gary Rosenfeld, Ph.D.PharmacologyUT Medical School – HoustonFx: (713) 792-5911
Gabe Virella, M.D., Ph.D.MicrobiologyMedical Univ of South CarolinaFx: (803) 792-2464


A major strength contributing to the success of the First Biennial Conference was the intimate atmosphere created by limiting that conference to 160 participants. Although understandably some will again be disappointed, we will continue with this practice in 1995, this year accepting only the first 190 registrants. Furthermore, to encourage the greatest number of medical schools participating, registration will be limited to a maximum of 4 individuals from each school until April 30th. If openings remain, additional individuals from the same school –whose applications were submitted prior to April 30th –may be considered and will qualify for the early registration fee. Early registration will be $250, increasing to $275 after April 30th, 1995, and includes the Conference Reception, Breakfasts, Lunches, Refreshment Breaks, and the Sunday Dinner Theater. A block of rooms at the Lincolnshire Marriott has been reserved at a special conference daily rate of $112 each, single or double occupancy. Upon receipt of the registration fee, participants will be provided information concerning Discussion Session preferences, instructions for submission of poster and computer exhibit abstracts, hotel registration procedure, accompanying guests, requests for diet restrictions, optional social events, etc. This year only one program brochure containing the conference registration information was mailed in February.


Confirmed registrants are invited to submit abstracts for posters and computer exhibits related to the topics listed under the Poster Symposium. Contact Dr. Lynn Romrell with your fax number and he will provide further details. The deadline for receipt of all abstracts is April 30th, 1995. If you wish to contribute to any section of this program, please send a fax request to the appropriate member of the Organizing Committee.