Continuity, LICs and Competency-based Education – 2018

Presented by Molly Cooke, MD, MACP on February 1, 2018 at 12:00 pm

This session will describe the current state of Longitudinal Integrated Clerkships (LICs) in medical education in the US, including the variety of formats that incorporate longitudinally and integration in some degree. It will describe what we know about the outcome of clinical education in this format for medical students and emerging trends in LICs. Because of the audience, special attention will be paid to how issues and concepts in fundamental science can be addressed in the LIC format.

Seminar Archive

Presenter Bios

Molly Cooke, MD, MACP, is professor of medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. Her academic focus is health professions education with a particular emphasis on educational initiatives addressing patient outcomes and cost of care in complex, chronically ill patients. Her papers have been published in the New England Journal of Medicine, the Annals of Internal Medicine, Academic Medicine, JAMA and Science. She is an author of Educating Physicians: A Call for Reform of Medical School and Residency (2010), winner of the PROSE award for distinction in scholarly publication in 2011. In 2006 she received the AOA Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award, a national award given by the Association of American Medical Colleges. Dr. Cooke’s medical practice focuses on the care of patients with HIV and other chronic illnesses. In addition to her work in education, she has contributed seminal works in HIV ethics during the early years of the epidemic. She has presented before two Congressional committees, consulted for the American Medical Association, and played leadership roles in a number of national organizations including the American Board of Internal Medicine, the National Board of Medical Examiners, and the American College of Physicians, serving the last organization as a Regent 2008 to 2014 and President 2013-2014. Dr. Cooke was elected to the National Academy of Medicine of the National Academies, formerly known as the Institute of Medicine, in 2013.