Congratulations to the 2022 IAMSE Distinguished & Early Career Award Winners

IAMSE, on behalf of the Professional Development Committee, would like to congratulate Kathryn Huggett and Jaya Yodh on receiving the Distinguished Career Award and Early Career Award, respectively.

The Distinguished Career Award for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Scholarship recognizes an IAMSE member who has a distinguished record of educational scholarship, including educational research and dissemination of scholarly approaches to teaching and education. Candidates must have a significant record of engagement within IAMSE. Kathryn Huggett, the 2022 awardee, is the Director of The Teaching Academy, Assistant Dean for Medical Student Education, and Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the University of Vermont Robert Larner, M.D. College of Medicine.

The Early Career Award for Excellence in Teaching and Innovation honors an IAMSE member who has made significant innovations to the field in the short time they have focused their careers toward enhancing teaching, learning and assessment. Candidates must have demonstrated less than 10 years of educational scholarship. Jaya Yodh, the 2022 recipient, is a Teaching Associate Professor and Medical Education Facilitator in the Department of Biomedical and Translational Biosciences at the Carle Illinois College of Medicine, and Research Associate Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

Congratulations to Dr. Huggett and Dr. Yodh. They will both be honored at the 26th Annual IAMSE Meeting in early June. Good luck to both of you in all your future endeavors.

Thank you,
Jonathan Wisco
Chair, IAMSE Professional Development Committee

For more information on workshops, presentations and to register for the
2022 IAMSE Annual Conference please visit